Orchester Kurt Edelhagen - Big Bands Live (2013) (3) jazzcrazy
The 101 Strings Orchestra (2) Luckascans
Cannonball Adderley Quintet - Concerets in Europe 1969' (5) jazzcrazy
Wolfgang Lauth (7) malieff
The Hollywood Cinema Orchestra (9) unhollyman

Главная | | Регистрация | Вход
Меню сайта

Форма входа


Наш опрос
Ваши предпочтения в музыке
1. Jazz
2. Rock
3. Classical
4. Easy Listening
5. Blues
6. Oldies
7. Pop
8. Tango
9. Funk
10. Other Genre
11. Chanson
12. New Age
13. Country
14. Disco
15. Folk
Всего ответов: 222


Онлайн всего: 1
Гостей: 1
Пользователей: 0

Главная » 2011 » Декабрь » 12 » Various Artists - The Birth Of Hard Bop [2CD] (1956)
Various Artists - The Birth Of Hard Bop [2CD] (1956)

Исполнитель: Various Artists (Lee Morgan/Donald Byrd/Hank Mobley)
Название альбома: The Birth Of Hard Bop
Год записи: 1956
Год выпуска альбома: 2002
Лейбл: Savoy Jazz
Формат файлов: APE(image,cue)
Размер архива: 249+274 Mb
Скачать с: multiupload
Источник: домашняя коллекция

The hard bop era is arguably the most significant of the different stages in the development of jazz, in that it showcased many of the artists that became the music's greatest legends. Three of these renowned artists are featured in this two-disc collection from Savoy, one of the era's great record labels. Trumpeters Lee Morgan and Donald Byrd and tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley all lead groups of various sizes throughout this extensive set that features sessions from 1956. Also appearing are other hard bop practitioners, notably pianist Horace Silver, one of the fathers of the style, and Kenny Clarke, one of the great drummers of any era.Despite the title, these sessions hardly mark the birth of hard bop, but the collection is an ample dose of the bluesy swing and hard-edged blowing that defined the genre from the mid '50s until the late '60s, when fusion started to become preeminent. Excellent examples of the style can be heard here in cuts such as Byrd's "The Jazz Message (Freedom for All)," Mobley's sizzling "Cattin'," and Morgan and Mobley's raucous "Hank's Shout."

The Birth of Hard Bop explores Savoy sessions from tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley and trumpeters Donald Byrd and Lee Morgan early in their careers. The majority of material has been previously released, however five alternate and previously unissued takes are included. Recorded between January and November 1956, with Mobley as the leader, playing on all tracks except the first three which fall under Byrd's leadership. Morgan's contributions surface on the last seven tracks, again under Mobley's leadership and excluding Byrd. The list of sidemen are hard bop (and bop) pioneers including Horace Silver, Barry Harris, Doug Watkins, Kenny Clarke, Hank Jones, and Arthur Taylor. This is a welcomed reissue with great sound and informative liner notes by Doug Ramsey in which the stifling term "hard bop" is thoroughly examined.
~ Al Campbell, AMG

Track List:

Disc 1
featuring Donald Byrd, Horance Silver
01. Budo (Davis, Powell) - 7:28
02. I Married an Angel (Hart, Rodgers) - 6:56
03. The Jazz Message (Cadena) - 8:00
featuring Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley
04. There Will Never Be Another You (Gordon, Warren) - 5:47
05. Cattin' (Mobley) - 3:04
06. Cattin' [Original Issue] (Mobley) - 4:35
07. Madeline (Mobley) - 4:39
08. When I Fall in Love (Heyman, Young) - 3:43
09. Space Flight (Mobley) - 4:17
10. Space Flight (Mobley) - 4:10
11. Blues Number Two [Previously Unreleased] (Mobley) - 5:16
12. Blues Number Two (Mobley) 4:56

Disc 2
featuring Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley
01. B. For B.B.[Previously Unissued] (Mobley) - 6:28
02. B. For B.B. (Mobley) - 6:26
featuring Hank Mobley, Lee Morgan
03. Hank's Shout (Mobley) - 6:59
04. Bet (Watkins) - 7:52
05. Nostalgia [Original Issue] (Navarro) - 8:24
06. Thad's Blues [Alternate Take] (Jones) - 9:47
07. A-1 [Original Issue] (Mobley) - 5:29
08. A-1 [Alternate Take] (Mobley) - 5:46
09. Doug's Minor B' Ok"(Watkins) - 6:37

Recorded at the Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey between January 30 and November 7, 1956
Producer: Ozzie Cadena.
Compilation producer: Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Paul Reid III (Denon Digital Industries, Madison, Georgia).


Lee Morgan, Donald Byrd (trumpet); Hank Mobley (tenor saxophone); John LaPorta (alto saxophone); Horace Silver, Hank Jones, Barry Harris, Ronnie Ball (piano); Doug Watkins, Wendell Marshall (bass); Kenny Clarke, Art Taylor (drums).

Доступно только для пользователей
Доступно только для пользователей
Категория: Jazz | Просмотров: 1145 | Добавил: malieff | Теги: Ronnie Ball, Horace Silver, Barry Harris, Hank Jones, APE, Lee Morgan, John LaPorta, Savoy Jazz, Hank Mobley, Donald Byrd

[ Сообщить о нерабочей ссылке ]
Всего комментариев: 1
1 BooGie  
Классная компиляция!Спасибо,Уважаемый!

Добавлять комментарии могут только зарегистрированные пользователи.
[ Регистрация | Вход ]

Облако тегов


«  Декабрь 2011  »

Нас посетили

Друзья сайта
  • Самарская Государственная Филармония
  • Архив Винила в Lossless & MP3
  • Космобиоритмология от Кали
  • Форум Alex Studio
  • Vinyl Rip - Lossless & Mp3
  • All Music From Alex Studio
  • Georgy Hi-Fi Story

  • Наш баннер

    Copyright MyCorp © 2024