Orchester Kurt Edelhagen - Big Bands Live (2013) (3) jazzcrazy
The 101 Strings Orchestra (2) Luckascans
Cannonball Adderley Quintet - Concerets in Europe 1969' (5) jazzcrazy
Wolfgang Lauth (7) malieff
The Hollywood Cinema Orchestra (9) unhollyman

Главная | | Регистрация | Вход
Меню сайта

Форма входа


Наш опрос
Ваши предпочтения в музыке
1. Jazz
2. Rock
3. Classical
4. Easy Listening
5. Blues
6. Oldies
7. Pop
8. Tango
9. Funk
10. Other Genre
11. Chanson
12. New Age
13. Country
14. Disco
15. Folk
Всего ответов: 222


Онлайн всего: 4
Гостей: 4
Пользователей: 0

Главная » 2010 » Октябрь » 14 » VA - Yes Sir That's My Baby: The Golden Years of Tin Pan Alley 1920-1929 (2002)
VA - Yes Sir That's My Baby: The Golden Years of Tin Pan Alley 1920-1929 (2002)

Исполнитель: Various Artists
Название альбома: Yes Sir That's My Baby: The Golden Years of Tin Pan Alley 1920-1929
Год записи: 1920-1929
Год выпуска альбома: 2002
Лейбл: New World Records [#279]
Формат файлов: Flac
Размер архива: 215 Mb
Скачать с: narod
Источник: интернет

It is a given that popular music is big business. This was not always the case, of course, and the roots of the current economic model can be found in the 1920s, when commercial recordings and the machinery needed to play them had recently become readily available to a newly affluent and youth-oriented American culture, and vaudeville and cabaret shows fueled huge sales of sheet music and player-piano rolls. Songs that have since passed beyond the status of classic and into the realm of cliche -- think of "April Showers," "My Blue Heaven," and "Yes Sir, That's My Baby" -- were written during this period and were performed and recorded by singers whose names have likewise become cultural signifiers more than pop music referents: this was the era of Al Jolson, Rudy Vallee, and John McCormack. Many of them are represented in this wonderful collection, which includes Jolson's almost laughably bathetic "April Showers," a brilliant rendition of the Fats Waller classic "Ain't Misbehavin'" by Louis Armstrong, and Jack Smith's unintentionally hilarious "Gimme a Little Kiss, Will Ya, Huh?." This is one of those rare records that functions equally well as a genuine amusement and as a history lesson. Highly recommended. ~ Rick Anderson, All Music Guide

Track List:

1. Paul Whiteman And His Ambassador Orchestra / Whispering ( J. Schonberg, R.Coburn,V. Rose)- 2:55
2. Al Jolson / April Showers (B.G. DeSylva, L.Silvers) - 3:07
3. Fred Waring And His Pennsylvanians / Collegiate (M. Jaffe, N. Bonx) - 3:04
4. Ethel Waters / Dinah (S. Lewis, J. Young, H. Akst) - 3:20
5. Ted Lewis And His Band / A Good Man Is Hard to Find ( E. Green) - 2:49
6. Jack Smith / Gimme a Little Kiss, Will Ya, Huh? (R.Turk, J.Smith, M.Pinkard) - 3:14
7. Ruth Etting / 'Deed I Do (W.Hirsch, F.Rose) - 2:50
8. Sophie Tucker / There'll Be Some Changes Made (B.Higgins, W. Benton Overstreet) - 3:02
9. Cliff Edwards And His Hot Combination / Sunday (N.Miller, C.Conn, J.Styne, B.Krueger) - 3:02
10. Blossom Seeley / Yes Sir, That's My Baby (G.Kahn, W.Donaldson) - 2:37
11. Paul Whiteman And His Orchestra / Mississippi Mud (J.Cavanaugh, H.Barris) - 3:39
12. Gene Austin / My Blue Heaven ( G.Whiting, W.Donaldson) - 3:38
13. Rudy Vallee And His Connecticut Yankees / Deep Night (R.Vallee, C.Henderson) - 3:25
14. Louis Armstrong And His Orchestra / Ain't Misbehavin' (A.Razaf, T.Waller, H.Brooks) - 3:23


Arthur Schutt (Piano); Nat Shapiro (Liner Notes, Program Consultant); Dick McDonough (Banjo); Blossom Seeley (Vocals); Lee Hulko (Mastering); Ted Shapiro (Piano); Chester Conn (Composer); Dirk Sobotka (Digital Mastering); Phil Ellis (Piano); Ruth Etting (Vocals); Sophie Tucker (Vocals); Gene Austin (Vocals); Vic Berton (Drums); John Dildine (Engineer); Jimmy Dorsey (Clarinet, Sax Alto); Nick Drake (Composer); Al Jolson (Vocals); Ethel Waters (Vocals); Red Nichols (Cornet); Miff Mole(Trombone).

Доступно только для пользователей
Категория: Oldies | Просмотров: 1087 | Добавил: malieff | Теги: Ted Lewis, Flac, Ethel Waters, Fred Waring And His Pennsylvanians, Paul Whiteman And His Ambassador Or, New World Records, Al Jolson

[ Сообщить о нерабочей ссылке ]
Всего комментариев: 5
1 Luckascans  
Спасибо, Александр!
Захватило с первых аккордов! Шикарное ретро!
Жалко, что отсутствует Back cover, зато тексты песен в наличие! biggrin respect hands hands hands +5!

2 malieff  
Рад, что понравилось! Ну а Back cover если нужно, то смотрите Доступно только для пользователей

3 Luckascans  
Теперь счастлив полностью! Ещё раз спасибо, уважаемый, Коллега! biggrin

4 OldSax79  
Сервер прикрыли, обновите ссылку, пожалуйста sad

5 OldSax79  
smile Спасибо!

Добавлять комментарии могут только зарегистрированные пользователи.
[ Регистрация | Вход ]

Облако тегов



Нас посетили

Друзья сайта
  • Самарская Государственная Филармония
  • Архив Винила в Lossless & MP3
  • Космобиоритмология от Кали
  • Форум Alex Studio
  • Vinyl Rip - Lossless & Mp3
  • All Music From Alex Studio
  • Georgy Hi-Fi Story

  • Наш баннер

    Copyright MyCorp © 2024